Accordion, but no Polka

Yesterday I cast on for this cute kid’s cardigan from one of the earlier issues of Knitty. I’m hoping to finish it by June 15th, right on time to donate with the rest of my stuff for the Dulaan Project. I’m using Lamb’s Pride Worsted in Limeade and Amethyst, on my size 5 Denise needles.Dulaancardi1

So far it has been a really fun knit, and it seems to be going pretty fast, even though it probably only feels that way because all I’ve knit for the past couple months has been socks on size ones.

The needles are kind of becoming a problem. I’ve had my Denise set since very early on in my knitting career, and I’ve gotten a lot of of use out of it… but now that I’m used to knitting on the slick metal surface of Addi Turbos, the Denise needles feel like they have way too much drag, especially through the cable. I really have to work to make my knitting move as I work, and it’s frustrating. But I think I can stick it out for one relatively small sweater.

I probably have about 15 more inches to do on the back before I get to start shoulder shaping. I think it’s not unrealistic to plan on finishing it in 2 weeks, but I have a tendency to drastically underestimate the required time to finish a project. So we’ll see. If I don’t finish it in time, I’m sure I’ll be able to find either somewhere else to donate it, or a child of a friend who has a hankering for a lime green cardigan.

Who am I kidding? I have a hankering for a lime green cardigan. I’m actually considering making the adult sized version of this pattern for myself for this fall. The Peace Fleece yarn for which is the cardigan is designed is beautiful and comes in a lot of colors. There are so many combinations it would be stunning in!

Leave a Reply

