Weight loss ain’t for sissies…

and apparently, neither is the stupid hat I’m making. Okay, I think the odds are pretty good that it is in fact that maker of the hat who is stupid, and I shouldn’t be taking my aggression out on Madge. But I’m sure you’ll forgive me when you hear that I have now frogged and re-cast on this SOB 4 times. It is pretty frustrating, but I figure that since I’ve already slogged through this much of it, I might as well try and see it through to the end.

The first time, I frogged the two or three inches I had knit in plain stockinette, after deciding that the Madge was cooler. Yesterday, I cast on the stitches for the new hat (2 needle sizes smaller, since the originally planned hat would have actually fit two of my heads in it), and managed to get about 2.5 inches into it before I realized that somewhere in the process of all the SSKs and YOs, I had lost 6 stitches. Today, I cast on for it again and this time managed about three rows and realized that in my haste to get restarted, I had twisted them. So now I am back to the beginning again. This time, I carefully placed markers every 5 stitches so I would quickly be able to see if I was losing or gaining stitches during the course of the lacework, and even more carefully joined my round to ensure no twist, and am now working the somewhat tedious first row for the fourth time. It’s a good thing this yarn is pretty, or I probably would have lost all motivation to work this out.

Weigh in number six and I am down by 25.4 pounds! Less than 10 pounds to go before I have totally sandal worthy feet! When I tracked my weight today on the Weight Watcher’s website, this is what it said:


CONGRATULATIONS!
You’ve achieved your 25-pound milestone!

However, we notice that you’ve lost more than an average of 2 pounds per week over three or more weeks. This rate is too rapid — it may be unsafe or unhealthy.

While we’re proud of your achievements and pleased you’re making positive changes in your life, we suggest that you slow the pace of your weight loss to no more than 2 pounds per week.

Ok, I can see their point and all here, but…. I started out at well over 300 pounds. For the first couple months, I really should be losing fairly quickly. My past experience with dieting has taught me that I usually lose about 30 pounds in the first couple months, and then it slows down. The real challenge is keeping myself going through the slow part!

Trust me, I am definitely not doing anything extra special to "cheat the system" and lose more weight than I "should". Under their system, I get 33 points everyday, and then I get 35 "extra" points to eat throughout the week, and I am definitely using them all! I am not wasting away by any means. But the message I got kind of irritates me. I mean, what are they going to do if I keep losing more than 2 pounds a week? Send the diet police after me? Give me more points? Hire people to follow me around and offer me dougnuts all day long so I’ll definitely go over? I’ve been eating pretty reasonably, and they are making me feel like I’m anorexic or something. It just strikes me as weird. *sigh* End rant.

3 Comments »

  1. Tara said

    Most likely they will adjust the number of points you get each week to slow you down…

  2. I can’t remember how and when I discovered you blog and I’m must confess that I’ve been a lurker ! Now I wanted to tell you that I’m happy for you ! I wish one day I’d be able to loose weight too… I always start and never finish if you see what I mean 🙂 Sorry ofr my poor englis I’m a french speaker ! Big smooches from Belgium !

  3. Liz said

    Of course WW wants you to lose weight slowly… you pay them! If you lose too fast, you pay for a shorter period of time. I’m all about WW & all, but they’re still a business. CONGRATS!!!

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

