Run for the (handknit) Roses

Apparently my dry season of finished objects is, at least for now, over. Tonight the Wednesday night knitting group yielded for me a completed Derby hat. I know I mentioned this project a week or two back, but in case you don’t remember, I made this hat for for a Derby hat decorating contest at work. I actually think it turned out pretty good, but I hate knitting with (most) cotton.

I know this makes me sound like a complete prissypants (oh, who am I kidding, I am a complete prissypants!) but knitting with any cotton but the Blue Sky Organic cotton line hurts my delicate fingers. After making a hat that is *way* too big and three roses out of mercenized cotton, my hands are just about ready to give up the ghost.

After all my hard work, I plan on treating myself to casting on for a new hat out of the fabulous yarn I bought at Sophie’s tonight. I totally was only going to buy two cheapy little balls of Cascade Fixation, but I saw this stuff as I was leaving and was totally sucked in. It is beautiful wool, thick and thin yarn in a variegated, pastelly colors. Even though it is freaking May and odds I will need a woolen hat in the next 6 months are pretty slim, I can’t resist. Besides that, my sock project of the moment is in the middle of a heelflap with intarsia, which happens to be pretty involved. So I need something mindless to work on. (Yes, I know, I’m justifying.)

Well, wish me luck in the hat contest tomorrow. I have my eyes on the first prize, which is a pair of movie tickets, but I would be happy just to place. I guess we’ll see what happens….

3 Comments »

  1. Tara said

    Good luck!

  2. jessie said

    go kick some humana hat ass!

  3. jessie said

    my mom tried to go vote for your hat, but she couldn’t find it…
    let me know where it is/what it looks like, and maybe i can direct her…

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

