New Knitting Books!

I made my semi-weekly trip to Borders today, to spend the 25% off coupon that they so generously email me every week or so, and I struck knitting book gold! Not only did I get to buy Big Girl Knits, which is very quickly edging up my list of favorite knitting books of all time, they had a buy two get one free sale on all the Stephanie Pearl-McPhee books (which I have been wanting to buy forever anyway). So I scored four awesome books for just over fifty bucks. (Nevermind that I only planned on spending twenty.) If any of my fellow Cast Off knitters don’t already have the Harlot books and want them, now would be a great time to act! I can only vouch for this thing going on at the Borders on Shelbyville road, but I guess it couldn’t hurt to look elsewhere if you wanted to!

In other news, I am still furiously knitting away at the projects for Bob’s family, and also for some unknown reason decided to enter a contest at work for making or decorating a Derby hat. This would be a great time to have a digital camera, because it’s a little hard to explain, but basically the concept is a plain green knit hat for the background, and about 40 little knit roses that will be attached after the hat is done, meant to simulate the big rose wreath thing that they put on the winning horse at the Derby. What kind of Louisvillian am I? I can’t even remember what the rose thingy is called! So sad…

For the last two or three weeks I’ve been knitting with the Sophie’s Wednesday night knitters group, and they are a really cool bunch of people, but I really, really miss all my knitting friends who can’t make it out there. (Which I can totally relate to, since during rush hour traffic it takes me at least 45 minutes to get there from my house.) The main reason I haven’t been coming to Highland Coffee is selfish discomfort. It’s the stress of being in a crowded shop in a chair that tortures my butt, while strangers trip over my yarn bag and ask well meaning but ridiculous questions, such as, "What are you sewing?" It takes a lot of self control not to tackle them and poke them with my needle until they are very clear on the difference between sewing, knitting and crocheting. Plus, it is a lot of fun to be knitting in a yarn shop, with new and strange knitters (I mean strange in the nicest possible way), with the potential to blow money I don’t have on yarn I don’t have time to knit! Altogether, it’s a pretty loud siren song. I better quit talking about this, because I still get pretty bitter when I think about how certain other yarn shops made Wednesday night a big, dramatic hassle for me. Grrrrrrr….

Also, Friday was weigh in #4 and I am down by 16.5 pounds since I started Weight Watchers. Yeah baby, there is room in the back of my pants again… even in the front of my pants! Woohoo! And thanks so much to everybody who has posted positive comments about the weight loss! It is really great to have my friends behind me on this, something I wasn’t really anticipating! I will be happy to be anyone elses weight loss buddy if they need one! I’m doing great, but of course I have a long road ahead of me.

Oh, one more thing! Dr. Terry says hello to all the other Cast Offers, wanted to let you all know that she is still knitting and misses us all but is unfortunately very, very busy with helping with the Ann O’Malley Shake campaign for Kentucky supreme court judge. So it will probably be a while before she rejoins the herd.

1 Comment »

  1. Tara said

    Holly,
    Way to go – keep on truckin’ girl!
    I’ll be at Sophie’s this week if you’ll be there…

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

