Unstashed

All in all, this has been a really slow week for knitting (and for blogging), largely due to the fact that my roommates moved out unexpected sometime in the middle of last week and since then, I’ve been busy cleaning up their half of our apartment and rearranging things so that me and Bob have more space. (The roommates didn’t leave on bad terms or anything like that; their lives are somewhat in upheaval at the moment and they chose to spend some extended time with family, and it’s all good. We miss them, but it’s nice to have the extra space, and the ability to walk around naked all the time if we really feel like it.)

One nice thing is that with a large extra room and bathroom to spread out into, I can finally move my overflowing yarn shelves out of my somewhat crowded bedroom and into the living room, where anyone who comes to my door can be impressed (or frightened) by the amount of yarn I have amassed in my relatively short years of knitting. I took this opportunity to go through my stash, good, bad and ugly, and separate the wheat from the chaff, so to speak.

Oh boy, was there ever chaff! There was a ton of yarn I bought at our local all-in-one craft store, before I knew that there was such a thing as an LYS. My early stash was very heavy on Red Heart super saver, Fun Fur, and the occasional Homespun. A lot of that has already been relegated to a box in the trunk of my car (I keep meaning to take it to the Goodwill or something), but I still found a lot of FUG that surprised me. Ok, so it wasn’t all that bad, and there is definitely a lot of cool stuff to take to the Cast Off swap this Wednesday.

I was a little disappointed that I couldn’t find my ugliest ball of yarn, which was going to be my contender for the Ugly Yarn Contest. I won’t reveal the specifics at this time, but if I can’t find it by Wednesday I’ll be sure to dredge up a link to a picture or something so that we can all marvel at the fug together.

I’m almost done with my first sock on two circular needles, and it is looking very nice if I do say so myself. I might be able to finish it today, except this afternoon is reserved for learning to spin with  Mery! I’m super excited about this, since I’ve been wanting to learn pretty much since I started knitting, and just hadn’t gotten around to it yet. I share a small amount of fear that I’ve heard other knitters express- the fear that spinning will become such an obsession that it will cut into knitting time, but it’s a risk I’m willing to take. We’ll see what happens!

1 Comment »

  1. Liz said

    Holly… I’m putting in an order for Simply Socks Yarn Co. tomorrow. Email me your phone number or something if you wanna get in on the action. I think orders over $50 have free shipping, and I’m sure between the 2 of us we can get that. I have like $300 in my shopping cart already, so I’ll have to start deciding what to remove. I don’t think I actually need $300 worth of sock yarn. Not all at once, anyway. The paper trail is too obvious. Anyway let me know if you want to order something.

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

